Incredible Coconut & Raspberry Cupcakes…

Standard

I had a good giggle with the girls at work yesterday and as 3/4 o’clock hit us, the sweet craving set in and as per usual, we couldn’t make up our minds about what we wanted. So, after a few discussions and thoughts about what I often see my colleagues eating (and what I love), I decided to make some Coconut & Raspberry Cupcakes for today… All I can say, or what they had to say was “these are the best yet”… I am so happy I saved a couple at home for myself as I am currently enjoying one with a great glass of Rioja 🙂 They really are  SUPER Delish!

Ingredients

175g self-raising flour
140g caster sugar
50g desiccated coconut
140g unsalted butter, softened
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
4 tbsp milk
140g raspberries, fresh or frozen

Icing 

280g icing sugar
85g butter, softened
4tbsp raspberry coulis (NOTE: you can buy this in the supermarket but I made my own, you can find the recipe here)

Method

1. Heat oven to 190C/170C fan/gas 5. Line a 12-hole muffin tin with deep paper cases or a 15-hole bun tin with cake cases. Tip all the cake ingredients except the raspberries into a bowl and beat for 1-2 mins until light and fluffy. Gently fold in the raspberries.

2. Divide the mixture between the cases and bake for 18-20 mins (add a couple of extra mins for deep cases), until golden brown and firm to the touch. Leave to cool.

3. Prepare the Raspberry Coulis.

4. Beat together the icing sugar, butter and raspberry coulis to make a light, fluffy icing. Spoon or pipe onto the cakes and sprinkle with coconut. Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

